Skip to main content

District Highlights

Central & Western District Highlights

Central Police Station Compound
Central Police Station Compound
  • The Central & Western District (C&W District), one of the earliest developed areas in the territory, is a commercial, financial, legal and political centre of Hong Kong. A lot of famous buildings are situated in the District, including the old Supreme Court building, the Government House which was previously the residence of former Governors but is currently used as an official place to receive honourable guests, the former French Mission Building and the Central Government Offices in Tamar.

  • The Central district, which is full of historical monuments and skyscrapers, is best known as the centre of Hong Kong. Some of the commercial buildings here are among the most expensive ones in the world. The district also has the world's longest outdoor covered escalator and the world's steepest funicular tramway. The Western district is rich in traditional characteristics. Taking advantage of its location near the shipping channel in the west, the district has long been a hub of trading and sea freight. The only non-staple food wholesale market of Hong Kong can be found here.

Old Supreme Court Building
Old Supreme Court Building

Quality of Life First: Strategic and Action Area Plans for Central & Western District

Peak  Tram
Peak Tram
  • The C&W District covers an area of 1,255 hectares, with a residential population of about 250 000. Over 90% of the population live in private buildings, varied from luxury homes on the Peak and in the Mid-levels to the old tenements in Sheung Wan and Sai Wan (i.e. the Western District). While a number of urban redevelopment projects had been completed recently to improve the living environment of the local community, efforts are made to preserve the distinctive Chinese and Western cultural heritage of the district.

  • With the commissioning of the extended MTR Island Line to Kennedy Town in late 2014 and the gradual completion of several major infra-structures in the next few years including the Central-Wan Chai Bypass, one is expecting a brand-new outlook of the C&W District in the near future.

Pottinger Street (the Stone Slabs Street)
Pottinger Street
(the Stone Slabs Street)

跳至主要內容

地區摘要

中西區區簡介

中區警署建築群
中區警署建築群
  • 中西區是香港最早開發的地區之一,現為本港商業、金融及法政中心。區內著名建築物林立,舊最高法院大樓、前香港總督的官邸而現時用作接待重要嘉賓的香港禮賓府、前法國外方傳道會大樓及添馬政府總部皆座落於中西區。

  • 中區一直被譽為香港的中樞,滿佈著歷史遺蹟及摩天大廈,當中一些商廈更已躋身世界最昂貴商廈之列。區內亦設有全世界最長的戶外有蓋自動扶手電梯,以及為世上最陡峭的纜索鐵道之一的山頂纜車。而西區一帶更別富傳統特色,藉著臨近海港西面的進出口航道之便,其貿易發達、貨運頻繁,歷來是全港副食品的集散地。

舊最高法院大樓
舊最高法院大樓

可持續發展的中西區─以「生活質素」為本的發展規劃

山頂纜車
山頂纜車
  • 中西區面積有1,255公頃,居住人口約有250 000人;超過九成人口居於私人樓宇。這些樓宇種類繁多,有山頂、半山的豪華大宅,亦有上環、西環的古舊唐樓,互相輝映成趣。中西區一方面保留了中西傳統文化的特色,另一方面亦致力於市區重建,務求為區內居民締造更美好的生活環境。

  • 隨著港鐵港島綫於二零一四年年底西延至堅尼地城,及區內的大型基建工程如中環灣仔繞道等逐一落成後,相信數年後大家在中西區見到的又是另一番新的景象。

砵典乍街(石板街)
砵典乍街(石板街)