Skip to main content

Welcome Message

Welcome to the homepage of the Islands District Council.

The Islands District consists of more than twenty islands of various sizes which include Lantau Island, Lamma Island, Cheung Chau, Peng Chau and Po Toi Island. The Islands District, with total land area of approximately 17 600 hectares, is the largest among the 18 administrative districts in terms of area.  It is filled with famous attractions and has beautiful natural scenery and rich cultural heritage.

Some major islands have had rapid development for the last ten years especially Tung Chung new town where the rural landscape is given a new look.   Tung Chung, with its dazzling beauty, will see rapid population growth and expand into a metropolitan area in the next decade.

Islands District Council (IDC) has been committed to serving the public and community building since its establishment.  In the future, it will continue to strive for balancing the needs of residents living in various areas, addressing public concerns relating to social, livelihood and transport issues arising from the population growth in new towns, as well as following up on the aspirations of residents in rural areas as before.  I hope that IDC will uphold the spirit of “putting the people’s livelihood first and doing solid works” and continue working for the well-being of Islands District.

Mr YU Hon-kwan, Randy, MH, JP
Chairman of Islands District Council