Skip to main content

Welcome Message

Welcome to the homepage of the Islands District Council.

The Islands District consists of more than twenty islands of various sizes which include Lantau Island, Lamma Island, Cheung Chau, Peng Chau and Po Toi Island. The Islands District, with total land area of approximately 17 600 hectares, is the largest among the 18 administrative districts in terms of area.  It is filled with famous attractions and has beautiful natural scenery and rich cultural heritage.


Some major islands have had rapid development for the last ten years especially Tung Chung new town where the rural landscape is given a new look.   Tung Chung, with its dazzling beauty, will see rapid population growth and expand into a metropolitan area in the next decade.


Islands District Council (IDC) has been committed to serving the public and community building since its establishment.  In the future, it will continue to strive for balancing the needs of residents living in various areas, addressing public concerns relating to social, livelihood and transport issues arising from the population growth in new towns, as well as following up on the aspirations of residents in rural areas as before.  I hope that IDC will uphold the spirit of “putting the people’s livelihood first and doing solid works” and continue working for the well-being of Islands District.

Mr YU Hon-kwan, Randy, MH, JP
Chairman of Islands District Council

跳至主要內容

歡迎辭

 
歡迎瀏覽離島區議會網頁。

離島區由超過20個大小不一的島嶼組成,主要包括大嶼山、南丫島、長洲、坪洲及蒲台島等,陸地面積共約17 600公頃。離島區在全港18個行政區中佔地最廣,區內有很多著名的度假勝地,更擁有不少文物古蹟與自然景觀,別具一格。

近十多年間,一些主要島嶼發展迅速,當中以東涌新市鎮的發展尤為顯著,這個一直以鄉郊發展為主導的行政區,亦呈現新景象,未來十年的人口將更集中於東涌,使東涌展現新都會的魅力。


離島區議會自成立以來,一直以服務市民及建設更美好的社區為己任。未來,本會將繼續致力平衡各區居民需要,紓緩新市鎮人口增長所衍生的社區、民生及交通問題,並同時會一如以往關注及跟進鄉郊居民各項訴求。本人期望離島區議會堅守「重民生,做實事」的精神,為離島區福祉努力。
 
離島區議會主席
漢坤先生MHJP